[GiDlist] regarding hybrid mesh

Moderator: GiD Team

suresh poosarla

[GiDlist] regarding hybrid mesh

Postby suresh poosarla » Fri Oct 21, 2005 6:01 am

HI frds,
I am suresh from India,doing my MS from Indian Institute of Technology,Madras.I am unable to generate hybrid mesh of hexahedron and tetrahedron.Can anyone let me know,how to generate ie.
bye


---------------------------------
Yahoo! India Matrimony: Find your partner now.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051021/50a3b44c/attachment.htm
User avatar
abelcs
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:14 am

[GiDlist] regarding hybrid mesh

Postby abelcs » Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:58 am

Hello,

By the moment, using GiD, it's not possible to generate hybrid meshes of hexahedra and tetrahedra. Each geometry entity must have one, and only one, element type, and you can obtain hexahedra and tetrahedra meshes in the same model, but each element type associated to different geometry entities.

ABEL



----- Original Message -----
From: suresh poosarla
To: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Sent: Friday, October 21, 2005 6:33 AM
Subject: [GiDlist] regarding hybrid mesh


HI frds,
I am suresh from India,doing my MS from Indian Institute of Technology,Madras.I am unable to generate hybrid mesh of hexahedron and tetrahedron.Can anyone let me know,how to generate ie.
bye


------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yahoo! India Matrimony: Find your partner now.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051021/6129532b/attachment.htm
Andreas Hauck

[GiDlist] GiD 7.7b not running (SuSE Linux > 9.1)

Postby Andreas Hauck » Tue Oct 25, 2005 9:59 am

Hello,

after installing the new beta of GiD, version 7.7b on a SuSE Linux 9.1
/9.3 machine, I see only the splash screen and the frame of the main
window without any menu bars or icons in it. The splash screen remains
on top and nothing happens anymore.

When I call 'strace' the last system calls are:

----
....
open("/dev/null", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 0
dup2(0, 1) = 1
dup2(0, 2) = 2
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [], [INT], 8) = 0
alarm(0) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [INT], [], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [INT], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
clone(child_stack=0,
flags=CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID|CLONE_CHILD_SETTID|SIGCHLD,
child_tidptr=0x401c1708) = 26551
gettimeofday({1130229188, 111628}, NULL) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, NULL, [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigsuspend([INT]
------

The previous beta versions 7.6b and 7.58b run stable without problems on
SuSE Linux 9.1 as well as 9.3. Do you have any idea, what can cause this
behaviour in the new version?

Regards,
Andreas Hauck

--

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universitaet Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl fuer Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen
_/ _/_/ _/_/_/
_/ _/ _/ Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen

M.Sc. Andreas Hauck

email.: andreas.hauck at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
url. : http://www.lse.uni-erlangen.de
tel. : (+49)-9131-85-23147
fax. : (+49)-9131-85-23133
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

[GiDlist] GiD 7.7b not running (SuSE Linux > 9.1)

Postby miguel » Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:44 pm

Hi,
Just remove the file 'YourGidDirectory/scripts/TemporalVariables' which
should not be in the distribution, sorry. We were doing some tests and this
file slipped inside the distribution.

miguel

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Andreas Hauck
Enviado el: martes, 25 de octubre de 2005 10:39
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Asunto: [GiDlist] GiD 7.7b not running (SuSE Linux 9.1)

Hello,

after installing the new beta of GiD, version 7.7b on a SuSE Linux 9.1
/9.3 machine, I see only the splash screen and the frame of the main
window without any menu bars or icons in it. The splash screen remains
on top and nothing happens anymore.

When I call 'strace' the last system calls are:

----
....
open("/dev/null", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 0
dup2(0, 1) = 1
dup2(0, 2) = 2
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [], [INT], 8) = 0
alarm(0) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [INT], [], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [INT], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
clone(child_stack=0,
flags=CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID|CLONE_CHILD_SETTID|SIGCHLD,
child_tidptr=0x401c1708) = 26551
gettimeofday({1130229188, 111628}, NULL) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, NULL, [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigsuspend([INT]
------

The previous beta versions 7.6b and 7.58b run stable without problems on
SuSE Linux 9.1 as well as 9.3. Do you have any idea, what can cause this
behaviour in the new version?

Regards,
Andreas Hauck

--

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universitaet Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl fuer Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen
_/ _/_/ _/_/_/
_/ _/ _/ Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen

M.Sc. Andreas Hauck

email.: andreas.hauck at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
url. : http://www.lse.uni-erlangen.de
tel. : (+49)-9131-85-23147
fax. : (+49)-9131-85-23133
_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

[GiDlist] GiD 7.7b not running (SuSE Linux > 9.1)

Postby miguel » Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:44 pm

Now the distribution has been repackaged without this file. Sorry again.

miguel

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Andreas Hauck
Enviado el: martes, 25 de octubre de 2005 10:39
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Asunto: [GiDlist] GiD 7.7b not running (SuSE Linux 9.1)

Hello,

after installing the new beta of GiD, version 7.7b on a SuSE Linux 9.1
/9.3 machine, I see only the splash screen and the frame of the main
window without any menu bars or icons in it. The splash screen remains
on top and nothing happens anymore.

When I call 'strace' the last system calls are:

----
....
open("/dev/null", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 0
dup2(0, 1) = 1
dup2(0, 2) = 2
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [], [INT], 8) = 0
alarm(0) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [INT], [], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [INT], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
clone(child_stack=0,
flags=CLONE_CHILD_CLEARTID|CLONE_CHILD_SETTID|SIGCHLD,
child_tidptr=0x401c1708) = 26551
gettimeofday({1130229188, 111628}, NULL) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_SETMASK, [INT], [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, [CHLD], [INT], 8) = 0
rt_sigprocmask(SIG_BLOCK, NULL, [INT CHLD], 8) = 0
rt_sigsuspend([INT]
------

The previous beta versions 7.6b and 7.58b run stable without problems on
SuSE Linux 9.1 as well as 9.3. Do you have any idea, what can cause this
behaviour in the new version?

Regards,
Andreas Hauck

--

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universitaet Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl fuer Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen
_/ _/_/ _/_/_/
_/ _/ _/ Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen

M.Sc. Andreas Hauck

email.: andreas.hauck at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
url. : http://www.lse.uni-erlangen.de
tel. : (+49)-9131-85-23147
fax. : (+49)-9131-85-23133
_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist
Björn Brodersen

[GiDlist] GiD Beta 7.7.0 won't start

Postby Björn Brodersen » Tue Oct 25, 2005 2:45 pm

Hi,

after installing gid-7.7.0b-dyn I get the following error:

GID internal error (init2): Can't find a usable tk.tcl in the following directories:

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tcl/tk8.4 /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk8.4 /home/software/lib/tk8.4 /usr/local/lib/tk8.4 /home/lib/tk8.4 /home/software/library /home/library /home/tk8.4.8/library /tk8.4.8/library

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl: invalid command name "LoadGidAddons"

invalid command name "LoadGidAddons"

while executing

"LoadGidAddons"

(file "/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl" line 585)

invoked from within

"source /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl"

("uplevel" body line 1)

invoked from within

"uplevel #0 [list source $file]"

This probably means that tk wasn't installed properly.

STACK IS:

Can't find a usable tk.tcl in the following directories:

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tcl/tk8.4 /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk8.4 /home/software/lib/tk8.4 /usr/local/lib/tk8.4 /home/lib/tk8.4 /home/software/library /home/library /home/tk8.4.8/library /tk8.4.8/library

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl: invalid command name "LoadGidAddons"

invalid command name "LoadGidAddons"

while executing

"LoadGidAddons"

(file "/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl" line 585)

invoked from within

"source /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl"

("uplevel" body line 1)

invoked from within

"uplevel #0 [list source $file]"

This probably means that tk wasn't installed properly.

while executing

"error $msg"

(procedure "tcl_findLibrary" line 119)

invoked from within

"tcl_findLibrary tk $tk_version $tk_patchLevel tk.tcl TK_LIBRARY tk_library"

(procedure "tkInit" line 4)

invoked from within

"tkInit"

Segmentation fault


What' s the problem with LoadGidAddons?

Thx for your help,

Greetings Bjoern

--
------------------------------
Dipl.-Ing. Björn Brodersen MSc
TU Braunschweig
Institut für Statik
Beethovenstr. 51
38106 Braunschweig
Tel.: 0531 / 391 - 3670
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

[GiDlist] GiD Beta 7.7.0 won't start

Postby miguel » Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:45 pm

Hi,
the problem is that gid.exe can not find the file tk.tcl. ¿which access
permission does this file and the whole path
/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/ have?

¿have you installed GiD (ungzipped, untared and done: './install
/home/software/gid-beta/') as a different user?

miguel

ps. I use also the opportunity to tell you that you have also to rename a
file, scripts/tkhtml/libTkhtml.so to scripts/tkhtml/libTkHtml.so (note the
capital 'T' ant 'H' of the library name) so that gid can show up the html
help. (my mistake)

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Björn Brodersen
Enviado el: martes, 25 de octubre de 2005 15:34
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Asunto: [GiDlist] GiD Beta 7.7.0 won't start

Hi,

after installing gid-7.7.0b-dyn I get the following error:

GID internal error (init2): Can't find a usable tk.tcl in the following
directories:

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk
/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tcl/tk8.4
/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk8.4 /home/software/lib/tk8.4
/usr/local/lib/tk8.4 /home/lib/tk8.4 /home/software/library /home/library
/home/tk8.4.8/library /tk8.4.8/library

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl: invalid command name
"LoadGidAddons"

invalid command name "LoadGidAddons"

while executing

"LoadGidAddons"

(file "/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl" line 585)

invoked from within

"source /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl"

("uplevel" body line 1)

invoked from within

"uplevel #0 [list source $file]"

This probably means that tk wasn't installed properly.

STACK IS:

Can't find a usable tk.tcl in the following directories:

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk
/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tcl/tk8.4
/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk8.4 /home/software/lib/tk8.4
/usr/local/lib/tk8.4 /home/lib/tk8.4 /home/software/library /home/library
/home/tk8.4.8/library /tk8.4.8/library

/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl: invalid command name
"LoadGidAddons"

invalid command name "LoadGidAddons"

while executing

"LoadGidAddons"

(file "/home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl" line 585)

invoked from within

"source /home/software/gid-beta/scripts/tk/tk.tcl"

("uplevel" body line 1)

invoked from within

"uplevel #0 [list source $file]"

This probably means that tk wasn't installed properly.

while executing

"error $msg"

(procedure "tcl_findLibrary" line 119)

invoked from within

"tcl_findLibrary tk $tk_version $tk_patchLevel tk.tcl TK_LIBRARY tk_library"

(procedure "tkInit" line 4)

invoked from within

"tkInit"

Segmentation fault


What' s the problem with LoadGidAddons?

Thx for your help,

Greetings Bjoern

--
------------------------------
Dipl.-Ing. Björn Brodersen MSc
TU Braunschweig
Institut für Statik
Beethovenstr. 51
38106 Braunschweig
Tel.: 0531 / 391 - 3670

_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist
Björn Brodersen

[GiDlist] GiD Beta 7.7.0 won't start

Postby Björn Brodersen » Wed Oct 26, 2005 9:59 am

Hi again,

I've installed as root user, on a nfs- partition.
Read permissions are set for all users. Also the excecution permission
is set for all.

Grepping the script directory reveals that function LoadGidAddons is
defined, in tcltk_addons.tcl in the scripts directory, read permissions
set to all users...

Any ideas?

Greeting Bjoern

PS: I'm using gentoo, tk and tcl is installed.

--
------------------------------
Dipl.-Ing. Björn Brodersen MSc
TU Braunschweig
Institut für Statik
Beethovenstr. 51
38106 Braunschweig
Tel.: 0531 / 391 - 3670
Andreas Hauck

[GiDlist] Error reading post.msh-file

Postby Andreas Hauck » Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:44 pm

Hello,

when I load a .post.msh-file with about 400 000 nodes and 300 000
elements into GiD 7.7b (SuSE Linux 9.3), it starts reading the file
(progress bar reaches 100%) and after a few seconds GiD exits and I get
the following error message:

---
gid.exe: Post/utils_post.cc:1558: int TclAppendExternalResult(Tcl_Interp
*, char *, char *): Assertion `strlen( buf) 8192' failed.
Abort
-----

The mesh is in 3D. The original mesh (created in another pre-processor)
contains tetrahedra, hexehaedra, wedges and pyramids. In our simulation
kernel I convert all of them to degenerated hexahedras with 8 nodes and
write them out into a .post.mesh-file with the GIDPOST-library (ASCII).
For smaller meshes this seems to work just fine. Do you have any idea,
where the problem might be?

Another aspect of the grid: We are not using the material parameter to
distinguish different regions in the mesh, since we want to see the
names of the regions, instead of a material number. Therefore we write
for each region a separate mesh with an own name and an empty
'Nodes'-section and one dummy-mesh which contains just the nodal
coordinates without element definitiosn. In this particular mesh there
are about 350 regions (=Mesh-sections). Might this be the limit in this
case?

Regards
Andreas

--

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universitaet Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl fuer Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen
_/ _/_/ _/_/_/
_/ _/ _/ Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen

M.Sc. Andreas Hauck

email.: andreas.hauck at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
url. : http://www.lse.uni-erlangen.de
tel. : (+49)-9131-85-23147
fax. : (+49)-9131-85-23133
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

[GiDlist] Error reading post.msh-file

Postby miguel » Wed Oct 26, 2005 6:44 pm

Hello,
o.k. thanks for the information, corrected. It's because of the large number
of meshes. To avoid the error ¿is your 'View style' window open? If so, just
don't open it. You can still use the right buttons menu to switch meshes on
and off.

There is no limit in the number of meshes. GiD supports tetraedra, hexaedra
and wedges.

It's o.k. the way you are writing the mehs. In fact you can also include de
nodal coordinates inside the first mesh, so you don't have to write the
dummy mesh.

In think that in a short time we'll release a new beta version.

miguel

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Andreas Hauck
Enviado el: miércoles, 26 de octubre de 2005 14:37
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Asunto: [GiDlist] Error reading post.msh-file

Hello,

when I load a .post.msh-file with about 400 000 nodes and 300 000
elements into GiD 7.7b (SuSE Linux 9.3), it starts reading the file
(progress bar reaches 100%) and after a few seconds GiD exits and I get
the following error message:

---
gid.exe: Post/utils_post.cc:1558: int TclAppendExternalResult(Tcl_Interp
*, char *, char *): Assertion `strlen( buf) 8192' failed.
Abort
-----

The mesh is in 3D. The original mesh (created in another pre-processor)
contains tetrahedra, hexehaedra, wedges and pyramids. In our simulation
kernel I convert all of them to degenerated hexahedras with 8 nodes and
write them out into a .post.mesh-file with the GIDPOST-library (ASCII).
For smaller meshes this seems to work just fine. Do you have any idea,
where the problem might be?

Another aspect of the grid: We are not using the material parameter to
distinguish different regions in the mesh, since we want to see the
names of the regions, instead of a material number. Therefore we write
for each region a separate mesh with an own name and an empty
'Nodes'-section and one dummy-mesh which contains just the nodal
coordinates without element definitiosn. In this particular mesh there
are about 350 regions (=Mesh-sections). Might this be the limit in this
case?

Regards
Andreas

--

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universitaet Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl fuer Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen
_/ _/_/ _/_/_/
_/ _/ _/ Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordan-Str. 3-5, D-91052 Erlangen

M.Sc. Andreas Hauck

email.: andreas.hauck at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
url. : http://www.lse.uni-erlangen.de
tel. : (+49)-9131-85-23147
fax. : (+49)-9131-85-23133
_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist

Return to “2013 - 2005”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests