[GiDlist] large set of information in condition

Moderator: GiD Team

Daniel Marceau

[GiDlist] large set of information in condition

Postby Daniel Marceau » Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:48 am

Hi,

I would like to include geometrical property as a condition in my GiD interface. The problem is that this geometrical property include approx 21 data:

identifier
prop1 to prop19

In this way, the corresponding generated file is very large due to the repeated information as:

elem1 prop1....prop19
elem2 prop1....prop19
elem3 prop1....prop19
...
elemn prop1....prop19

There is any way to write the information using the identifier included in my geometrical property in the style:

elem1 identifier
elem2 identifier
elem3 identifier
...
elemn identifier

with the corresponding geometrical property defined elsewhere ?

Thanks
Daniel Marceau
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20050811/e1c2274a/attachment.htm
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

[GiDlist] large set of information in condition

Postby escolano » Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:01 pm

Can define a condition, with an special field #MAT# , pointing to a material that store the common properties.
some like this:
*.cnd

CONDITION:MyCond
CONDTYPE: over surfaces
CONDMESHTYPE: over body elements
QUESTION:Property#MAT#(Properties)
VALUE:Table
END CONDITION

Then the condition window at run time show a menu with the current available materials of the book named "Properties"

*.mat

BOOK: Properties
MATERIAL: Template
QUESTION:Type
VALUE:Template
STATE:hidden
QUESTION:Prop1
VALUE:0.0
QUESTION:Prop2
VALUE:0.0
...
END MATERIAL

This special auxiliar materials are located in a separated book (named Properties), and must not be assigned by the user to geometrical entities, draw, or unassigned.
Also the user must not delete the material named Template, used to create derivated materials, with this fields but other specific values

*.tcl

proc InitGIDProject { dir } {
...
ChangeDataBehaviour
}

proc ChangeDataBehaviour { } {
GiD_DataBehaviour materials Properties hide {assign draw unassign} ;#hide some buttons for all materials of this book
GiD_DataBehaviour material Template hide {delete} ;#avoid to delete the template material
}

*.bas

*set cond MyCond *elems
*loop elems *onlyincond
*elemsnum *cond(Property)
*end elems

*loop materials *NotUsed
*#use the first material hidden field to identify the type
*if(strcmp(matprop(Type),"Template")==0)
*# write the material name
*MatProp(0)
*# write material field values
*MatProp(Prop1) *MatProp(Prop2) ...
*endif
*end materials

Can see for example the problemtype nastran 3.0 (can get it directly from Data-problemtype-Internet retrieve)

Best regards

Enrique Escolano

----- Original Message -----
From: Daniel Marceau
To: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Sent: Thursday, August 11, 2005 6:32 AM
Subject: [GiDlist] large set of information in condition


Hi,

I would like to include geometrical property as a condition in my GiD interface. The problem is that this geometrical property include approx 21 data:

identifier
prop1 to prop19

In this way, the corresponding generated file is very large due to the repeated information as:

elem1 prop1....prop19
elem2 prop1....prop19
elem3 prop1....prop19
...
elemn prop1....prop19

There is any way to write the information using the identifier included in my geometrical property in the style:

elem1 identifier
elem2 identifier
elem3 identifier
...
elemn identifier

with the corresponding geometrical property defined elsewhere ?

Thanks
Daniel Marceau
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20050811/5a4a5b5f/attachment.htm
IEEA

[GiDlist] GiD_AssignData : bug with surfaces !?

Postby IEEA » Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:39 pm

Hello,

I encounter some problems each time I automatically assign a condition
to some surfaces in GID 7.5.3b.

The command I used is :

...
#-- Lecture du mot cle #SELECTEDSURFACES
--------------------------------------
if {[string equal "#SELECTEDSURFACES" $chaine] == 1} then {
incr position
set ligne [lindex $list_ligne $position]
set list [split $ligne]
set nb_element_list [llength $list]
set nbslctd_surfaces [lindex $list 0]
incr position
set ligne [lindex $list_ligne $position]
set liste [split $ligne]
set laliste [list $liste]
set nb_element_list [llength $liste]
set values ""
GiD_AssignData condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces $values $ligne

}
...

where Selection_of_Surfaces is the name of my condition and ligne is a
list deduced from the reading of a file.

I do the same for lines and points (using the same type of procedure)
and I have no problem.

Do you think that I made a mistake or there is a bug in GID 7.5.3b ? Is
there the same problem with the newest version of GID ?

Thank you.

G.W.R. Geis


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20050812/6dc777ec/attachment.htm
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

[GiDlist] GiD_AssignData : bug with surfaces !?

Postby escolano » Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:39 pm

Hello,

I tried a similar command, with GiD 7.5.3b, and the included sample problemtype "ansys55_3D"

I creatde some surfaces, loaded the problemtype, and used

set values "1 0 1 0 1 0"
set ligne "1 3"
GiD_AssignData condition Surface-Constraints surfaces $values $ligne

And it assigned well this condition values to the surfaces 1 and 3

Check the value of your parameters $values and $ligne.
GiD_AssignData condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces $values $ligne
- values must have the same number of parameters as in the 'Selection_of_Surfaces' condition definition ( see .cnd file)
- ligne must have a list of surface identifiers

Can use WarnWinText to debug your current values

WarnWinText "values=$values ligne=$ligne"
GiD_AssignData condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces $values $ligne


Enrique Escolano

----- Original Message -----
From: IEEA
To: GIDliste
Sent: Friday, August 12, 2005 3:30 PM
Subject: [GiDlist] GiD_AssignData : bug with surfaces !?


Hello,
I encounter some problems each time I automatically assign a condition to some surfaces in GID 7.5.3b.

The command I used is :

...
#-- Lecture du mot cle #SELECTEDSURFACES --------------------------------------
if {[string equal "#SELECTEDSURFACES" $chaine] == 1} then {
incr position
set ligne [lindex $list_ligne $position]
set list [split $ligne]
set nb_element_list [llength $list]
set nbslctd_surfaces [lindex $list 0]
incr position
set ligne [lindex $list_ligne $position]
set liste [split $ligne]
set laliste [list $liste]
set nb_element_list [llength $liste]
set values ""
GiD_AssignData condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces $values $ligne
}
...

where Selection_of_Surfaces is the name of my condition and ligne is a list deduced from the reading of a file.

I do the same for lines and points (using the same type of procedure) and I have no problem.

Do you think that I made a mistake or there is a bug in GID 7.5.3b ? Is there the same problem with the newest version of GID ?

Thank you.

G.W.R. Geis


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20050812/7b3d9024/attachment.htm
ya ya

[GiDlist] Creating a 3D Geometry from triangulated arbitrary

Postby ya ya » Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:59 pm

Hi Enrique,

I was wondering whether you had time looking into my files. In the meantime,
I have tried to create a nurbs surface from the triangulated one using
Rhino, as Rick Morgans kindly suggested in the forum. In Rhino, they
have several types of IGES formats that they can save the file into, i.e 3DS
Max, CATIA, MechanicalDesk, Pro/E, Softimage, SolidWorks........... I used
3d max 3.0, and the rendered surface came out funny in GiD, and I could not
produce a volume, see attached file. May be, I was saving the file using an
IGES format that is not compatible with GID. Can you help?

Thank-you very much!
Bahong

_________________________________________________________________
Take charge with a pop-up guard built on patented Microsoft® SmartScreen
Technology.
http://join.msn.com/?pgmarket=en-ca&page=byoa/prem&xAPID=1994&DI=1034&SU=http://hotmail.com/enca&HL=Market_MSNIS_Taglines
Start enjoying all the benefits of MSN® Premium right now and get the
first two months FREE*.
-------------- next part --------------
An embedded and charset-unspecified text was scrubbed...
Name: Test3.iges
Url: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20050812/0055a95b/attachment.txt
IEEA

[GiDlist] GiD_AssignData : bug with surfaces !?

Postby IEEA » Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:01 am

Thank you Enrique,

Every thing is right now : THERE IS NO BUG !

Nevertheless, note that my problem came from the definition of my
condition. In the .cond file it was:

NUMBER 4 CONDITION: Selection_od_Surfaces
CONDTYPE:over surfaces
CONDMESHTYPE:over face elements
QUESTION:Select#CB#(surfaces)
VALUES:surfaces
END CONDITION

This condition is cannot be assigned whenever I use the command
"Gid_AssignData condition". Actually, I must modify the property
CONDMESHTYPE "over face elements" with "over nodes" if I want that the
command runs !?! It was just for information, because I do not well
understood what appends here.

Thank you again.

G.W.R. Geis


Enrique Escolano wrote:

Hello, I tried a similar command, with GiD 7.5.3b, and the included
sample problemtype "ansys55_3D" I creatde some surfaces, loaded the
problemtype, and used set values "1 0 1 0 1 0"
set ligne "1 3"
GiD_AssignData condition Surface-Constraints surfaces $values
$ligneAnd it assigned well this condition values to the surfaces 1 and
3 Check the value of your parameters $values and $ligne.GiD_AssignData
condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces $values $ligne- values must
have the same number of parameters as in the 'Selection_of_Surfaces'
condition definition ( see .cnd file)- ligne must have a list of
surface identifiers Can use WarnWinText to debug your current
values WarnWinText "values=$values ligne=$ligne"GiD_AssignData
condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces $values $ligne Enrique
Escolano
----- Original Message -----

From: IEEA
To: GIDliste
Sent: Friday, August 12, 2005 3:30 PM
Subject: [GiDlist] GiD_AssignData : bug with surfaces !?
Hello,

I encounter some problems each time I automatically assign a
condition to some surfaces in GID 7.5.3b.

The command I used is :

...
#-- Lecture du mot cle #SELECTEDSURFACES
--------------------------------------
if {[string equal "#SELECTEDSURFACES" $chaine] == 1} then {

incr position
set ligne [lindex $list_ligne $position]
set list [split $ligne]
set nb_element_list [llength $list]
set nbslctd_surfaces [lindex $list 0]
incr position
set ligne [lindex $list_ligne $position]
set liste [split $ligne]
set laliste [list $liste]
set nb_element_list [llength $liste]
set values ""
GiD_AssignData condition Selection_of_Surfaces surfaces
$values $ligne
}
...

where Selection_of_Surfaces is the name of my condition and
ligne is a list deduced from the reading of a file.

I do the same for lines and points (using the same type of
procedure) and I have no problem.

Do you think that I made a mistake or there is a bug in GID
7.5.3b ? Is there the same problem with the newest version
of GID ?

Thank you.

G.W.R. Geis



-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20050816/36257f51/attachment.htm
Martin Meiler

[GiDlist] Concentrating Mesh

Postby Martin Meiler » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:53 am

Hello everybody again,

my question concerns the generation of a structured mesh using the
concentrate elements function. When using this function vector appear on
each line selected. Often the vectors point in different direction on
parallel lines, therefore the element concentration setup process has to
be repeated for the lines pointing in the opposite direction.

Is there any possibility to influence the direction of the vectors?

Regards

Martin


--
--------------------------------------------------------------------

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universität Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl für Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany
_/ _/_/ _/_/
_/ _/ _/ University of Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany


Dipl.-Ing. Martin Meiler

tel.: (+49)-9131-85-23140
fax.: (+49)-9131-85-23133

email: Martin.Meiler at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
Martin Meiler

[GiDlist] new GiD beta for linux

Postby Martin Meiler » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:54 am

Hi everybody,

since there already exists a beta version 7.6.0b for Windows, i am
actually wondering about why the last linux beta is 7.5.8b.

Since there has been developments in meshing techniques it would be
important for me, to get these last developments for my linux machine too.

Regards

Martin

--
--------------------------------------------------------------------

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universität Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl für Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany
_/ _/_/ _/_/
_/ _/ _/ University of Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany


Dipl.-Ing. Martin Meiler

tel.: (+49)-9131-85-23140
fax.: (+49)-9131-85-23133

email: Martin.Meiler at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

[GiDlist] new GiD beta for linux

Postby miguel » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:54 pm

We're currently compiling this version on linux.

miguel

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Martin Meiler
Enviado el: miércoles, 17 de agosto de 2005 8:45
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Asunto: [GiDlist] new GiD beta for linux

Hi everybody,

since there already exists a beta version 7.6.0b for Windows, i am
actually wondering about why the last linux beta is 7.5.8b.

Since there has been developments in meshing techniques it would be
important for me, to get these last developments for my linux machine too.

Regards

Martin

--
--------------------------------------------------------------------

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universität Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl für Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany
_/ _/_/ _/_/
_/ _/ _/ University of Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany


Dipl.-Ing. Martin Meiler

tel.: (+49)-9131-85-23140
fax.: (+49)-9131-85-23133

email: Martin.Meiler at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de

_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

[GiDlist] new GiD beta for linux

Postby miguel » Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:45 pm

GiD version 7.6.0b is ready for Windows and Linux. You can find the versions
at:

ftp://www.gidhome.com/pub/gid_adds/Windows

and

ftp://www.gidhome.com/pub/gid_adds/Linux

there several bugs corrections, and new features.

miguel

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Miguel Pasenau
Enviado el: jueves, 18 de agosto de 2005 21:45
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
Asunto: RE: [GiDlist] new GiD beta for linux

We're currently compiling this version on linux.

miguel

-----Mensaje original-----
De: gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
[mailto:gidlist-admin at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu] En nombre de Martin Meiler
Enviado el: miércoles, 17 de agosto de 2005 8:45
Para: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Asunto: [GiDlist] new GiD beta for linux

Hi everybody,

since there already exists a beta version 7.6.0b for Windows, i am
actually wondering about why the last linux beta is 7.5.8b.

Since there has been developments in meshing techniques it would be
important for me, to get these last developments for my linux machine too.

Regards

Martin

--
--------------------------------------------------------------------

_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Friedrich Alexander Universität Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Lehrstuhl für Sensorik
_/ _/ _/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany
_/ _/_/ _/_/
_/ _/ _/ University of Erlangen
_/ _/ _/ _/ Department of Sensor Technology
_/_/_/ _/_/ _/_/_/ Paul-Gordanstr. 5, 91052 Erlangen, Germany


Dipl.-Ing. Martin Meiler

tel.: (+49)-9131-85-23140
fax.: (+49)-9131-85-23133

email: Martin.Meiler at lse.eei.uni-erlangen.de

_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist



_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist

Return to “2013 - 2005”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests