Page 1 of 1

Having list with more elements

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:11 am
by payoubi
Hi,

I am wondering if there is a way to increase the possible number of nodes/elements in a list? The default is 1000 but how can I have 2000 for example per each selection?
I checked the preferences but could not find anything.

Bests

Re: Having list with more elements

Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:29 pm
by escolano
The amount of entities listed in the 'list entities' tool is limited to 1000 to avoid lock the program selecting by accident millions of entities.
This window is not the right way to see 'too big' information, it is better to use other approach (graphically, writing information in some file, ...)

This limit is not available as a preference or variable.
you can do some trick:
In GiD 13.0.x (official versions) could modify the file
scripts/GrDataMenus.tcl
and replace
GiD_Process Mescape Utilities List
by
GiD_Process Mescape Utilities List ListLimit 2000
(1000 is the default value)

In GiD 13.1.xd (developer versions) the code flow has changed, now is not using 'GiD_Process' keywords, but doing all al Tcl/Tk scripting level. The selection is done at Tcl level and the window show the results without use the 'process' loop.
These versions doesn't has the limit of 1000 entities to be listed

Re: Having list with more elements

Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:29 am
by payoubi
I did the trick but it does not work. The default has not changed. Any thought?


Thanks.

Re: Having list with more elements

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:44 pm
by escolano
What is your GiD version?
and what is the type of entity that you are trying to list?

Re: Having list with more elements

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:34 pm
by payoubi
It's version 13.
I want to list nodes

Re: Having list with more elements

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:59 am
by escolano
I have tried with GiD 13.0.1 or 13.04 and the trick that I said is working well.
to do it once with a limit of 5000 instead of the default 1000 you can write this in the lower command line

Mescape Utilities List ListLimit 5000 Nodes

or to it permanently you can modify the related file scripts/GrDataMenus.tcl, as was explained before
GiD_Process Mescape Utilities List
by
GiD_Process Mescape Utilities List ListLimit 5000

and then use the menu
Utilities->List->Nodes

and to use the list toolbar icon must modify in the same file the text
{-np- AddBitmapsToMenu %W {GiD_Process Mescape Utilities List } }
by
{-np- AddBitmapsToMenu %W {GiD_Process Mescape Utilities List ListLimit 5000 } }