Refining quadrilateral and hexahedral element meshes

Moderator: GiD Team

fcdiass
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:04 pm

Refining quadrilateral and hexahedral element meshes

Postby fcdiass » Fri May 28, 2021 2:01 pm

Hello everyone!

I would like to know GiD offers some way to refine meshes as proposed by Robert Schneiders in his work "Refining Quadrilateral and Hexahedral Element Meshes".

Here we have some examples of this type of refining in 2D quadrilateral meshes:
image (1).png
image (1).png (32.31 KiB) Viewed 401 times


... and in 3D hexahedral meshes:
image (2).png
image (2).png (58.74 KiB) Viewed 401 times


See more in: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Robert-Schneiders/publication/2734329_Refining_Quadrilateral_and_Hexahedral_Element_Meshes/links/546203d70cf27487b4557826/Refining-Quadrilateral-and-Hexahedral-Element-Meshes.pdf
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1716
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: Refining quadrilateral and hexahedral element meshes

Postby escolano » Mon May 31, 2021 10:44 am

Sorry, GiD cannot do this kind of hexahedra refinements, with pattern of edge subdivisions 1:3
The octtree mesher is doing internally a similar subdivision with pattern 1:2, but in any case it is an internal feature not accessible at user level.
fcdiass
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:04 pm

Re: Refining quadrilateral and hexahedral element meshes

Postby fcdiass » Tue Jun 01, 2021 1:41 am

escolano wrote:Sorry, GiD cannot do this kind of hexahedra refinements, with pattern of edge subdivisions 1:3
The octtree mesher is doing internally a similar subdivision with pattern 1:2, but in any case it is an internal feature not accessible at user level.


Thanks for your quick answer! Currently, I am doing this transition manually (almost drawing one by one element).
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1716
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: Refining quadrilateral and hexahedral element meshes

Postby escolano » Tue Jun 01, 2021 10:16 am

Instead of manually you can do it at Tcl scripting level

e.g. can ask the current mesh for example with
GiD_Info Mesh

and can create new nodes and elements with the command
GiD_Mesh create|delete|edit|get|list

see GiD help on Customization->Tcl/Tk extension

Return to “Mesh”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest