Page 1 of 1

Create a rectangle in the YZ plane using GiD_Process

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:16 pm
by merce_lopez
When I try to create a rectangle in the YZ plane using GiD_Process, for example:

GiD_Process Mescape Geometry Create Object Rectangle 0,0,0 0,1,1 Mescape

I get this error: Error creating rectangle: Corners must be in same z plane

I was thinking about creating points, lines and surface directly, but is there an easy way to create a rectangle in any different plane from z by using GiD_Process or similar?

Thanks!

Re: Create a rectangle in the YZ plane using GiD_Process

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:57 am
by anna
Hello,

No, there isn't a shorter way to define it. You will need to create points, lines and the surface.

I'm sorry!

Re: Create a rectangle in the YZ plane using GiD_Process

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:50 am
by merce_lopez
Ok! Thank you for the answer.

Re: Create a rectangle in the YZ plane using GiD_Process

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:42 pm
by escolano
A rectangle in 3D is not well defined specifying only two opposite corners !!

the function
GiD_Process Mescape Geometry Create Object Rectangle <corner> <opposite_corner>
expects the corners in the same z plane. It could be at z=0.0 (as usual clicking in screen)
or in a different z, like the plane z=2.0

e.g: this is a valid definition:
GiD_Process Mescape Geometry Create Object Rectangle 0,0,2.0 0,1,2.0 Mescape

In general, as Anna pointed, you must create a geometrical surface creating its points, its lines, and then the surface
Note: you can create entities with GiD_Processs and then GiD keywords,
or using the direct GiD-Tcl command

GiD_Geometry
see GiD Help on customization, Tcl and Tk
Note: developers have more control with Tcl commands that with 'GiD_Process' commands