out of range

Moderator: GiD Team

simonz
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:44 am

out of range

Postby simonz » Sun Jan 03, 2016 4:51 am

hello:
does anyone knows what should i do if i got the message which says that: " reading GiD mesh ' XXX' in this line: 471:: 18712 not in [ 1, 340] node 18712 out of range.
Point number out of range?: 19 not in [ 1, 18] Reading mesh."?

Thank you so much for your help~

And happy new year!

simon.
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: out of range

Postby escolano » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:06 pm

It seems that the file you are reading is wrong or doesn't has the expected syntax.

e.g. some element points to the node id=18712 but this node has not been previously defined.
Have a look to the file content with some text editor (in case that it is ASCII) to try to identify the error.

How are you reading the file in GiD? (e.g. Files->Import->GiD mesh... in preprocess, Files->Open in postprocess,...)

How has been created the file?

If you are unable to solve your problem upload the file to this forum.
simonz
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:44 am

Re: out of range

Postby simonz » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:31 pm

hi escolano:
thanks a lot for helping me.
i've tried the way you suggest while it's not working.
i have the file as in .txt format which i want it to be uploaded, while it seems that the .txt file is not allowed to be uploaded.
Am i only allowed to attach pictures to this message?

Thank you.
Simon
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: out of range

Postby escolano » Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:59 pm

You can upload all kind of files, like a zip file, not only images!
The "upload attachment" is located in a tab of the form below the text area
simonz
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:44 am

Re: out of range

Postby simonz » Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:12 pm

Hi escolano:
The txt file is attached to this message, and i really appreciate if you can help me have a look of it and point out the whats wrong with my mesh.
Thank you.

Simon
Attachments
test.zip
the .msh file is inside the zip file
(7.57 KiB) Downloaded 113 times
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: out of range

Postby escolano » Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:08 pm

there is an error in the line of the element 126

126 27 33 22 34 205 183 206 186 227 18712

the node 18712 doesn't exists!
probably it must be 187 only?
simonz
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:44 am

Re: out of range

Postby simonz » Wed Jan 06, 2016 2:02 am

Hi escolano:
that is exactly the problem is, and after correct that point, the mash can be imported into the GiD.
While the imported mesh is looking pretty strange as shown in the picture attached, can you have a look to see if you think it's in a wrong format?

Thanks

Simon
Attachments
test2.zip
picture of mesh and txt for the mesh
(282.45 KiB) Downloaded 122 times
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: out of range

Postby escolano » Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:46 am

The order of the element's nodes is wrong.
This is the order expected by GiD for a quadratic tetraedron:
http://www.gidhome.com/documents/referencemanual/PREPROCESSING/Mesh%20Menu/Element%20type
simonz
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:44 am

Re: out of range

Postby simonz » Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:34 pm

Hi escolano:
the original mesh i have are triangulated surface meshes, and i used the command that you told me (Mescape Meshing MeshFromBoundary) in the GiD which generated my mesh into linear 4 node tetrahedral meshes.
then i used a matlab code converted them into quadratic tet.
Is the wrong order of element's node happens during using the command?

Thank you

Simon
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: out of range

Postby escolano » Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:22 pm

The wrong order is written by your matlab code.
See the GiD element nodes order in the reference manual of my previous link!

Return to “Import/Export”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest