Reading File Problems

Moderator: GiD Team

juancho150
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:04 pm

Reading File Problems

Postby juancho150 » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:09 pm

Hello to everyone!!!


I'm currently working on create geometry models in GiD, my objective is to generate geometries automatically through text files in order to change some parameters quickly and then create a new one without having to make all new geometry from the points, the problem is that i export the text inform, but when i try to import it again to GiD (Even without changes), the GiD don´t read anything.... i was reading the help and there says that GiD can´t read the text inform.... Anyone knows what kind of archive i have to export in order to make changes and then import it again wwithou problems???



I hope anyone can help me :D

Thanks!!!!!
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

Re: Reading File Problems

Postby escolano » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:56 pm

The 'Text data report' was made to be human readable.
You can export the model with Files->Export->ASCII project,
Help of last GiD 12.1.5d include a short explanation of the GiD .geo ASCII format
http://www.gidhome.com/component/manual/customizationmanual/preprocess_data_files/geometry_format-_modelnamegeo

The ASCII project is readed again in the normal way (Files->Open...), it doesn't matter if the format is binary or ASCII to be read.

Or do you have other options:
  • Record the GiD keywords to do the operations in a 'batch' file, imported with Files->Import->Batch file...
  • Use some standard exchange format, like IGES, ACIS, Rhinoceros
  • Store your own file and create the geometry with Tcl scripting language (e.g. using the GiD_Geometry command)
juancho150
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:04 pm

Re: Reading File Problems

Postby juancho150 » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:09 pm

MMmmmmm im going to take a look to the ASCII format...

About the batch file, how can i create it? Because i was trying to do ti by:

Utilities-tools- Batch FIle window.....


But i don't allow me to create the batch file....
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

Re: Reading File Problems

Postby miguel » Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:08 pm

Hi,
you can create it by hand ....
or you can record the batch of your working session on the preferences window:
preferences_batch.png
Enabling batch recording
preferences_batch.png (43.47 KiB) Viewed 3441 times

Once enabled all command-line commands that you do in GiD are recorded in the selected batch file.
Including enabling the batch recording and

EVEN the QUIT command!

inside the batch file, the preferences are also saved between the
*****SAVE MARK
*****SAVE STATE
*****END SAVE STATE
lines, that you can delete for your batch.

Remember also that the batch file is rewritten every time you start GiD again and quit.
The older batch file will be renamed to YourName.bch~

best,

miguel pasenau
mario
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 10:57 am

Re: Reading File Problems

Postby mario » Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:09 am

I everyone, I have a similar problem, so I'll post it herein.
I'm also trying to build a batch file in order to quickly change my model.
So I build a batch file with the name "name.bch" and the exact following content:

Code: Select all

Geometry Create Point
FNoJoin 0,0,0
FNoJoin 0,30,0
FNoJoin 0,120,0
FNoJoin 0,150,0
FNoJoin 0,0,30
FNoJoin 0,30,30
FNoJoin 0,120,30
FNoJoin 0,150,30
FNoJoin 0,0,120
FNoJoin 0,30,120
FNoJoin 0,120,120
FNoJoin 0,150,120
FNoJoin 0,0,150
FNoJoin 0,30,150
FNoJoin 0,120,150
FNoJoin 0,150,150
Mescape
Zoom Frame
Rotate Angle 45 45
Geometry Create Line
Join
1 2 3 4
escape
5 6 7 8
escape
9 10 11 12
escape
13 14 15 16
escape
1 5 9 13
escape
2 6 10 14
escape
3 7 11 15
escape
4 8 12 16
Mescape
Utilities Copy Lines DoExtrude Lines MaintainLayers MCopy 12 Translation FNoJoin 0,0,0 FNoJoin 50,0,0
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
Zoom Frame
Mescape


When I run this code as File>Import>Batch file... it applies all the commands except those related with view options (Zoom Frame and Rotate Angle 45 45).
When I run this code as Utilities>Tools>Read batch window... it only runs up to the command "Geometry Create Line". After this point it doesn't create the lines, so all the remaining code becomes senseless.

Can anyone help me on this?

Thanks in advance,
Mario

Return to “Import/Export”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests