[GiDlist] Problem in .Bas file

Moderator: GiD Team

ascosta at portugalmail.pt

[GiDlist] Problem in .Bas file

Postby ascosta at portugalmail.pt » Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:21 am

An embedded and charset-unspecified text was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Url: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051124/85b73435/attachment.txt
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051124/85b73435/attachment.htm
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

[GiDlist] Problem in .Bas file

Postby escolano » Thu Nov 24, 2005 5:06 pm

It seems that it not exists any element with this condition.
Are you sure that do you have some element have this Localaxes condition applied over them?
Use draw condition when visualizing the mesh.

After apply to geometric surfaces, must generate again the mesh to transfer to the elements.

What type of elements do you have: surface elements (triangles or quadrilaterals) or volume elements (tetrahedras, etc)?

In other hand, your "Localaxes" is only the name of a condition, but don't use the GiD local axes internal concept
(read help about #LA# fields).

Regards
Enrique Escolano
----- Original Message -----
From: ascosta at portugalmail.pt
To: gidlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
Sent: Thursday, November 24, 2005 12:00 AM
Subject: [GiDlist] Problem in .Bas file


Hi.

My .cnd file has

BOOK: Local Axes
NUMBER: 5 CONDITION: Localaxes
CONDTYPE: over surfaces
QUESTION: Rolling_direction_X
VALUE: 1.0
QUESTION: Rolling_direction_Y
VALUE: 0.0
QUESTION: Rolling_direction_Z
VALUE: 0.0
QUESTION: Transverse_direction_X
VALUE: 0.0
QUESTION: Transverse_direction_Y
VALUE: 1.0
QUESTION: Transverse_direction_Z
VALUE: 0.0
QUESTION: Normal_direction_X
VALUE: 0.0
QUESTION: Normal_direction_Y
VALUE: 0.0
QUESTION: Normal_direction_Z
VALUE: 1.0
END CONDITION

When, in bas file i call this values, like this:

**TESTE1
*set cond Localaxes *elems
*if(CondNumEntities(int)0)
*loop elems *OnlyInCond
*ElemsNum *cond(1)
*end
*endif

I don't have any result. Do you know why?

If i do this:

**TESTE1
*set cond Localaxes *elems
*loop elems
*ElemsNum *cond(1)
*end

I have this results:
*TESTE1
1 1.0
2 1.0
3 1.0
4 1.0
5 1.0
6 1.0
7 1.0
8 1.0
9 1.0
10 1.0

But i have assigned for cond(1) the value 2 !!

Thanks.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051124/2f043d98/attachment.htm
ascosta at portugalmail.pt

[GiDlist] Problem in .Bas file

Postby ascosta at portugalmail.pt » Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:27 pm

An embedded and charset-unspecified text was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Url: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051124/5fe9ace1/attachment.txt
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051124/5fe9ace1/attachment.htm
Malte Neumann

[GiDlist] use link as problemtypes directory

Postby Malte Neumann » Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:22 pm

Hi,

I would like to use a symbolic link as problemtypes directory. On our unix
system this is no problem, but GiD for Windows does not accept the link.

What I would like to achieve is:
We have two PC both with a GiD license and we would like to have the same
problemtypes available on both computers without always synchronizing the
problemtypes directories. Is there any way to achieve this?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Malte



--
Malte Neumann
Institute of Structural Mechanics, University of Stuttgart, Germany
http://www.uni-stuttgart.de/ibs/members/neumann/
Ramon Ribó

[GiDlist] use link as problemtypes directory

Postby Ramon Ribó » Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:51 pm

Hello,

Windows has a quite hidden capability for creating sym links for
directories. Go to a recent TCL help and check TCL command:

file link ...

Regards,

--
Compass Ing. y Sistemas Dr. Ramon Ribo
http://www.compassis.com ramsan at compassis.com
c/ Tuset, 8 7-2 tel. +34 93 218 19 89
08006 Barcelona, Spain fax. +34 93 396 97 46

En Wed, 30 Nov 2005 15:03:21 +0100, Malte Neumann
neumann at statik.uni-stuttgart.de escribió:

Hi,

I would like to use a symbolic link as problemtypes directory. On our
unix
system this is no problem, but GiD for Windows does not accept the link.

What I would like to achieve is:
We have two PC both with a GiD license and we would like to have the same
problemtypes available on both computers without always synchronizing the
problemtypes directories. Is there any way to achieve this?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Malte






--
Compass Ing. y Sistemas Dr. Ramon Ribo
http://www.compassis.com ramsan at compassis.com
c/ Tuset, 8 7-2 tel. +34 93 218 19 89
08006 Barcelona, Spain fax. +34 93 396 97 46
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:31 pm

[GiDlist] use link as problemtypes directory

Postby escolano » Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:06 pm

You can create a link from a Tcl command like this (also works for Win NT/2000/XP)

put this line in the GiD lower command line some like this (using your own paths off course), and press return
-np- cd {C:\Program files\GiD\GiD 7.7.2b\problemtypes}; file link -symbolic MyProblemtype.gid {C:\other directory\MyProblemtype.gid}

It will create a link inside the C:\Program files\GiD\GiD 7.7.2b\problemtypes directory, pointing to C:\other directory\MyProblemtype.gid

Note: this link is different of "direct access" Windows links, and it looks like an useful directory, not like a Windows link.

Must be careful, it seems easy to confuse the "real" and "link" directories: if you delete this "link", don't delete
the files inside the "real" directory.

Maybe we can also support "Windows links" for next GiD beta versions.

Regards

Enrique Escolano

----- Original Message -----
From: "Malte Neumann" neumann at statik.uni-stuttgart.de
To: "gid user list" gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Sent: Wednesday, November 30, 2005 3:03 PM
Subject: [GiDlist] use link as problemtypes directory


Hi,

I would like to use a symbolic link as problemtypes directory. On our unix
system this is no problem, but GiD for Windows does not accept the link.

What I would like to achieve is:
We have two PC both with a GiD license and we would like to have the same
problemtypes available on both computers without always synchronizing the
problemtypes directories. Is there any way to achieve this?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Malte



--
Malte Neumann
Institute of Structural Mechanics, University of Stuttgart, Germany
http://www.uni-stuttgart.de/ibs/members/neumann/
_______________________________________________
GiDlist mailing list
GiDlist at gid.cimne.upc.es
http://gid.cimne.upc.es/mailman/listinfo/gidlist

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051130/51d3382c/attachment.htm
Malte Neumann

[GiDlist] use link as problemtypes directory

Postby Malte Neumann » Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:37 pm

Thanks a lot for this advice. It works very well, unfortunately not for
network directories.

Maybe it is also an option to make the problemtypes directory path a user
definable variable (maybe even a list of directories) in future. No need
for links then, one can simply include all directories with problemtypes.

Thanks again.

Malte Neumann


On Wed, Nov 30, 2005 at 05:56:25PM +0100, Enrique Escolano wrote:
You can create a link from a Tcl command like this (also works for Win
NT/2000/XP)

put this line in the GiD lower command line some like this (using your
own paths off course), and press return
-np- cd {C:\Program files\GiD\GiD 7.7.2b\problemtypes}; file link
-symbolic MyProblemtype.gid {C:\other directory\MyProblemtype.gid}

It will create a link inside the C:\Program files\GiD\GiD
7.7.2b\problemtypes directory, pointing to C:\other
directory\MyProblemtype.gid

Note: this link is different of "direct access" Windows links, and it
looks like an useful directory, not like a Windows link.

Must be careful, it seems easy to confuse the "real" and "link"
directories: if you delete this "link", don't delete the files inside
the "real" directory.

Maybe we can also support "Windows links" for next GiD beta versions.

Regards

Enrique Escolano

----- Original Message -----
From: "Malte Neumann" neumann at statik.uni-stuttgart.de
To: "gid user list" gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.es
Sent: Wednesday, November 30, 2005 3:03 PM
Subject: [GiDlist] use link as problemtypes directory


Hi,

I would like to use a symbolic link as problemtypes directory. On our
unix system this is no problem, but GiD for Windows does not accept the
link.

What I would like to achieve is:
We have two PC both with a GiD license and we would like to have the same
problemtypes available on both computers without always synchronizing the
problemtypes directories. Is there any way to achieve this?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Malte
--
Malte Neumann
Institute of Structural Mechanics, University of Stuttgart, Germany
http://www.uni-stuttgart.de/ibs/members/neumann/
Georg Haasemann

[GiDlist] changing node numbers

Postby Georg Haasemann » Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:21 pm

Hello,
I'm using 8-node volume elements and I would like to (ex)change single
node numbers of the mesh. Is there any easy way to do that or is it
necessary to develop a tcl-routine for that purpose?

Thanks for your help,
Georg
Thanasis Makrodimopoulos

[GiDlist] structured mesh

Postby Thanasis Makrodimopoulos » Sun Dec 11, 2005 2:06 pm

Hi,

Is it possible to produce a structured mesh of quadrants
which will be separated into 4 triangles?
(I see that Gid can separate into two triangles)
I use Gid 7.2


Regards
Thanasis
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051211/53c25905/attachment.htm
User avatar
abelcs
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:14 am

[GiDlist] structured mesh

Postby abelcs » Mon Dec 12, 2005 9:50 am

Yes, it is possible.
You must check the option Symmetrical Structured Triangles in Preferences-Meshing menu.
I think this option is no available in the GiD version you use (7.2); in this case you must update it from our web:
http://www.gidhome.com/download/do07.subst

Regards,

ABEL



----- Original Message -----
From: Thanasis Makrodimopoulos
To: gidlist at gatxan.cimne.upc.edu
Sent: Sunday, December 11, 2005 1:58 PM
Subject: [GiDlist] structured mesh


Hi,

Is it possible to produce a structured mesh of quadrants
which will be separated into 4 triangles?
(I see that Gid can separate into two triangles)
I use Gid 7.2


Regards
Thanasis
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://listas.cimne.upc.edu/pipermail/gidlist/attachments/20051212/1b3cedd6/attachment.htm

Return to “2013 - 2005”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests